Project on hold indefinitely

I’m sure at this point this won’t come as a surprise to most of the people following us after such a long period of time with no update, but I unfortunately have to declare this project dead unless another translator with sufficient skill is willing to step forward to replace Cyneris.

The last I talked to him was when we posted the last progress update and the PDF for part 1. At that point real life was getting pretty stressful for him and he had also just discovered there was a many months long hiatus in updates to the Japanese original web novel with the author saying he was taking a break to try and rekindle his motivation to continue the series.  Translating is a very time consuming task and that information combined with real world stress probably killed his motivation to continue. I haven’t received any replies to attempts at communication with him since then, but I think it’s safe to say that even if I did at this point, it’s unlikely that he is interested and/or able to continue to work on the series.

Personally, I would like to continue working on the series, and if somebody with sufficient skill were to step forward and take over, I would continue to supervise and edit the project.  Unfortunately, while my own Japanese skills are far better than your average weeb, nevermind your average person, I still feel they are woefully inadequate for me to personally take over the translation of a project of this scale.  Even if I were to make an attempt, the time it would take me to translate would be many many times longer than what it took Cyneris due to the amount of time I would need to spend looking up words and kanji I don’t know, not to mention idioms and other wordplay. In addition, my writing skills aren’t nearly as good as his, so there would be a significant drop in the quality of the writing, most likely.

While I won’t completely rule the possibility out, at some point in the future, I do not have the sheer amount of free time this would require of me not to mention the attention span (I have ADHD) and I am not willing to make any kind of commitment to anything of this nature, so please don’t get your hopes up.  If I do, one day, post something, or somebody fills the position and the project resumes, I’ll be sure to update the page on novel updates for those of you that follow that site (and of course here).

I am sorry to have to bring you this news, no matter how much it was probably expected by many of you at this point.  I enjoyed working on this project, and for those of you that made regular posts and comments, it was extremely nice to see they were largely positive and constructive, which is a large contrast to comments I often see on other translation projects complaining about slow speed etc. so thank you for being a much better group of readers than what I am used to seeing for fan translated work, and thank you for reading and supporting our work for all of this time until now.

-Kuro

This entry was posted by kuropiosu.

3 thoughts on “Project on hold indefinitely

  1. Thank you for being upfront and honest to us about it :). It’s a pity that this project will be dead for now, since I enjoyed the writing and translations quite a bit. Regardless of whether this picks up again or not, I wish the best for the translation team. It was a fun ride while it lasted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment